New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

  • Published on: December 5 Nov 2018

  • Apple’s new iPad Pro is a beast of a tablet, and Nilay Patel reviews it -- everything from its new design and screen to plugging in several devices to the new USB-C port. Dami Lee and William Joel, professional creatives at The Verge, also give their insight into the new iPad and Apple Pencil. Subscribe: http://goo.gl/G5RXGsLike The Verge on Facebook: https://goo.gl/2P1aGcFollow on Twitter: https://goo.gl/XTWX61Follow on Instagram: https://goo.gl/7ZeLvXRead More: http://www.theverge.comCommunity guidelines: http://bit.ly/2D0hlAvSubscribe to Verge Science on YouTube, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: http://bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Runtime : 13.53

COMMENTS: 40

  • Thien Pham
    Thien Pham   6 hours ago

    Imagine an iPad Pro that can switch from MacOS to IOS and vice versa whenever the user feels like it.

  • MrEmanthedrummer
    MrEmanthedrummer   22 hours ago

    iPad isn’t meant to be a computer. It’s meant to be a tablet. If you want a computer, but a MacBook or an iMac.

  • mikamiga
    mikamiga   22 hours ago

    The iPad can't replace a laptop so long as it keeps using an OS designed for a mobile phone. You just can't replace a desktop OS with a mobile OS. There's too much you can't do. For the average person the iPad will be fine, but for people who need their computers for work, like programmers and web devs, the iPad Pro isn't useful at all!

  • Canosis Plays
    Canosis Plays   1 days ago

    All that power and yet still no Xcode.... still waiting to upgrade. Apple needs more pro software support and a more accommodating OS.

  • Stringbean
    Stringbean   2 days ago

    wow, great review and thanks for saving me a lot of money!

  • kemicalromanc15
    kemicalromanc15   2 days ago

    I basically bought it as a glorified sketch pad bc Procreate is so amazing. I know I'll need a computer for Photoshop and text for comics but the "On-the-go" and mobility is just what I need. Luckily....I don't have a pervious iPad Pro.

  • black magic753
    black magic753   3 days ago

    its detachable why would you ever use tablet with keyboard behind it???

  • Fazli Halim
    Fazli Halim   4 days ago

    You can only transfer photo from sd card. Not video. Come on apple

  • Namu Cuddles
    Namu Cuddles   5 days ago

    wait what YOU CANT HAVE GMAIL IN IPAD????? LMFAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  • VirtuaMe
    VirtuaMe   1 weeks ago

    Next one hopefully to be OLED, waterproof and the newer iOS opening up more essential functions

  • Gregory Pierce
    Gregory Pierce   1 weeks ago

    I echo this sentiment. The iPad Pro is excellent hardware that is severely limited by iOS. Yes the hardware is going to keep getting faster and faster, but unless the OS gains and the software stack gains a lot of capability to exploit it - it's almost pointless.

  • Nicole Ibáñez
    Nicole Ibáñez   1 weeks ago

    This is the best review! Got so excited about this new iPad got it and found myself cut off by the limited apps and the way iOS limits how you can transfer files. Wish I had seen this before

  • Jedi 511
    Jedi 511   1 weeks ago

    Great review as always. $2200 is a lot for iOS powered device with the limitations iOS has. I wonder if Apple fragments iOS in to two groups: PadOS and PhoneOS. With the performance and price point the iPad Pros have (really since 2017), they need to be flexible enough to replace a laptop fully. Off topic, but one thing I don’t understand is the iPhone XR screen is bashed, yet has higher PPI than the iPad Pro screen which is praised. I have both the 10.5 iPad Pro and the iPhone XR and I can see vitrually no difference.

  • Eng Leong Kong
    Eng Leong Kong   1 weeks ago

    thats the thing bout apple...they dont get it...and well said, i would like it to adapt to me and not me adapt to it

  • darron pattel
    darron pattel   1 weeks ago

    good thing you guys didnt have to put much together for this video

  • damberson4698
    damberson4698   1 weeks ago

    The reason I haven’t purchased an iPad is because of iOSI have an iPhoneAnd the limitations of apps on iOS are purposeful. The whole reason I need a MacBook is iOS. The mobile OS gets in the way of some thingsI can do a lot of things on my phone, but sometimes you just need full desktop browsing etc. Apple will never allow the iPad Pro to have those functions.If they did, with the specs and performance that the iPad Pro has right now, it would destroy the MacBook Pro line, and honestly, some of the iMac sales would drop as well.

  • Kalvin Kiema
    Kalvin Kiema   1 weeks ago

    Maybe I’d be interested if there was a boot camp app for this iPad.

  • Arup Deb
    Arup Deb   1 weeks ago

    Is this an answer or something else?? If you're tired then leave it, stop winning It just frustrates 🤐😥

  • Malcolm H
    Malcolm H   1 weeks ago

    Really great review thanks! I was considering possible the iPad pro but, man, too frustrating.. too many exclusivities Apple won't budge on. Your comment, "the iPad pro is just an accessory to my laptop, not a replacement for it" How true, and that's what Apple seems to want...for people who have a lot of money to buy BOTH vs one that can do both. I can't make my Gmail my default email?! nope. I can't watch higher HD/4k on YouTube?! nope. Too much exclusivity. dam. So frustrating.

  • Christopher DiCesare
    Christopher DiCesare   2 weeks ago

    The iPad doesn’t even have a 4K display...why the hell are you upset about YouTube not playing in 4K?

  • Acy - Conseils
    Acy - Conseils   2 weeks ago

    smh, Liquid Retina doesn't mean rounded corners, it's LCD (Liquid Crystal Display) and Retina. It's just a fancy name for good LCD screens, as opposed to the iPhone XS's OLED technology

  • dennis aquino
    dennis aquino   2 weeks ago

    Same question when the first IPad Pro came out......and the answer is the same....NO!

  • Ahsan Arshad
    Ahsan Arshad   2 weeks ago

    I am android fan boy knowing that Apple's hardware and software is way better than Android's but these are the reasons why I hate Apple... I am willing to pay for a device that you made but it's mine now so let me decide what i will do with it.... Why i have to follow your rules even after paying you so heavily? Why there are so many roadblocks in my way?Look at this ipad now, it's way faster than their own laptop but still it can't take place of my laptopPS: 'New phone can't fit the old charger, that's your hero?' Bill BurrNow new pencil won't work with old iPad

  • JaeIsAsleep
    JaeIsAsleep   2 weeks ago

    What no! what kinda question is that! I gotta give them credit tho, better than the pixel slate.

  • Constance JJ
    Constance JJ   2 weeks ago

    THANK YOU! I stumbled into your video after watching several others who spent the first several minutes talking about aesthetics and the "unwrapping experience" of opening a new iPad Pro. I mean, really? I just wanted to know how it works, is it worth the price, can it do what I want it to do. You delivered that information to me in a concise manner. I'll be back in the future!

  • Kidon Bae
    Kidon Bae   2 weeks ago

    What’s that drawing app they are using in the video???

  • Super John64
    Super John64   2 weeks ago

    It can not be a laptop replacement...But it is the first flexible iPad ever

  • Braulio Diaz
    Braulio Diaz   3 weeks ago

    Thank you for the review man. I was planning on buying the new model but I was thinking of choosing the older model because of the price. I have an iPad Air (original) since it came out and it still works like a charm but the problems I had with it were the size of the screen (its kinda clumsy reading pdf files when you have to zoom and look around what youre looking for) and the memory (16GB). The additions are neats especially the Apple Pencil, but I think the older model is enough for my needs. Thank you!

  • Pablo Martí
    Pablo Martí   3 weeks ago

    Where can I buy the black carpet over the table to standing the Ipad?

  • Kazumi Shi
    Kazumi Shi   3 weeks ago

    Watching this from my destroyed ipad

  • Mike
    Mike   3 weeks ago

    No.It can not.